Bloggingforfood's Blog

Happy (Lunar) New Year! 恭喜发财!

Posted on: February 17, 2010

To celebrate the new year, I wanted to prepare a big feast for my boyfriend, our roommate and his fiance’. They are all Chinese so I thought it would be the perfect time to try cooking Chinese food.. For the first time… I have to admit that I was really nervous about cooking Chinese cuisine, especially having never been to China or Hong Kong and not being Chinese myself. But I had a few days to prepare so I did some research on what dishes are typically served for New Year’s and techniques and preparations and narrowed the many options down to 7 dishes. Most of them I have eaten in various restaurants across the nation so it was easy to think about preparation and ingredients needed, but there was one dish, which happened to be one of my all-time favorites, that I could not figure out how to make. This dish would be Xiao Long Bao (xlb) or as it’s known in English, “soup dumpling”. For the xlb I searched the web far and wide and found a great recipe for it. So I’d like to thank Jaden of Steamy Kitchen for her great xlb recipe! I followed her recipe to the very last detail and the dumplings were wonderful! They were a big hit at dinner that night and I must say, really fun to make! Tedious, but fun.

Xiao Long Bao (Soup Dumplings)

The other items on the menu were:

Sugar Snap Peas w/ Ground Pork in Shrimp Paste

Shanghai Chow Nian Gow (Stir-fried Rice Cake)

Cedar Key clams in black bean sauce

Sauteed snow pea leaves with baby shiitake

We also had hunan fried tofu puffs and law bock gow (radish cakes), but forget to get a picture of them! Recipes for everything to come soon.

Dinner was great! There is nothing I love more than to be able to cook dinner for my friends and see their face when they take their first bite. We rang in the new year sitting around the table enjoying the food and great conversation. And thanks to my boyfriend for being a wiz at shaping those dumplings!

1 Response to "Happy (Lunar) New Year! 恭喜发财!"

the food looks awesome! happy new year!

Leave a Reply

Ever since I was a little country bumpkin growing up in Alabama, I dreamed of living in a big city. No longer would I have to only befriend the local farm animals. I would have real people friends! I would wear suits and be important. And I'd be able to eat foreign foods like tacos or spaghetti.

Now here I am, living in San Francisco where I'm constantly surrounded by great food and food sources. And now I'm going to write about all of it. What I eat, what I cook. Where I shop for ingredients. Basically anything and everything about what I love most. FOOD!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

