Bloggingforfood's Blog

Steak Dinner!

Posted on: March 18, 2010

In the past two deliveries from Marin Sun Farms, we’ve received a total of 4 very juicy looking steaks. 3 ribeyes and 1 NY strip. I wanted to grill these bad boys, but we currently don’t own a grill. I got tired of waiting and we had people coming over on Sunday, so I decided to just roast them instead. Well actually I roasted them, seared the hell out of them, then put them under the broiler to melt the blue cheese sauce. Now that’s cookin’!

I made an infused olive oil for marinating the steaks by putting crushed garlic, rosemary, sage, and thyme in olive oil and simmering it for 2 mins, then left to cool. After removing the herbs form the olive oil, I rubbed the steaks down and wrapped them individually and put them in the fridge for 4 hours. Later I roasted them at 450°f for 15 mins, then seared them in my Cuisinart Griddler. I topped them with the spicy blue cheese sauce made from danish blue cheese, cream cheese, minced shallot and minced jalapeño and put under the broiler to melt. Though a lot of steps to get to the end, it was all worth it. The steaks were delicious!

For sides we had roasted veggies and sauteed dino kale with fresh lemon juice and toasted pine nuts. The kale was fantastic and almost surpassed the steak as the favorite part of the meal.

Look how vibrant and green the kale is!

1 Response to "Steak Dinner!"

From someone who was lucky enough to consume this sumptuous meal, listen to this woman people…and keep reading!

Leave a Reply

Ever since I was a little country bumpkin growing up in Alabama, I dreamed of living in a big city. No longer would I have to only befriend the local farm animals. I would have real people friends! I would wear suits and be important. And I'd be able to eat foreign foods like tacos or spaghetti.


Now here I am, living in San Francisco where I'm constantly surrounded by great food and food sources. And now I'm going to write about all of it. What I eat, what I cook. Where I shop for ingredients. Basically anything and everything about what I love most. FOOD!



Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

