Bloggingforfood's Blog

One Pot Meals: 갈비찜 (Kalbi Jjim)

Posted on: April 12, 2010

If I haven’t mentioned it already, I LOVE one pot meals. This usually means that it’s a stew or soup of some sort. For this post, it’s 갈비찜, or Korean braised short rib stew.

Recently at work Troy, our fantastic soup chef, was trying to decide on a new soup to make. I immediately said 갈비찜!! Since he had never made nor eaten it before, I offered to make it so that he could taste it to get to know some of the flavor components that he’s never cooked with before, like chinese dates and ginko nuts. For the recipe, I decided to follow ThousandthDish’s 갈비찜 recipe. I followed his food blog way before blogging was even popular. Sadly, he doesn’t blog anymore, at least not that I know of.

As ThousandthDish mentions in his recipe, scoring the beef is really important. It helps to break down some connective tissue and allow flavors to really penetrate the meat. I picked up 4lbs of grass fed short ribs and had them cut into 1 1/2″ pieces. I scored them on all sides and seasoned them generously with salt and ground black pepper.

I followed the recipe to the very last detail and the outcome was purely amazing. I’ve cooked 갈비찜 at home before, following other recipes from various websites and/or Korean cookbooks, but nothing compared to his recipe. If you are going to take on this royal dish, I suggest you try his way first.

The outcome. Doesn’t it just look so delicious?!

Leave a Reply

Ever since I was a little country bumpkin growing up in Alabama, I dreamed of living in a big city. No longer would I have to only befriend the local farm animals. I would have real people friends! I would wear suits and be important. And I'd be able to eat foreign foods like tacos or spaghetti.


Now here I am, living in San Francisco where I'm constantly surrounded by great food and food sources. And now I'm going to write about all of it. What I eat, what I cook. Where I shop for ingredients. Basically anything and everything about what I love most. FOOD!



Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

