Bloggingforfood's Blog

Desserts: Vanilla Creams with Strawberries in Cassis

Posted on: April 20, 2010

Since strawberries are in season, I wanted to make a dessert that included them. Luckily, this months edition of Bon Appetit magazine included British inspired desserts with strawberries in them. It was a tough choice between the Strawberry and Rhubarb Crumble or the Vanilla Creams with Strawberries in Cassis. Reading that the creams are similar to panna cotta, I decided to go with that recipe. My bf and I love panna cotta so I was sure it would be a hit!

This is a very easy recipe to follow and requires no baking, boiling, or roasting of any kind. All you need are a couple of sieves, cheese cloth, bowls, the ingredients and time. I will warn you that vanilla beans and fromage blanc are not cheap. I went to Drager’s in San Mateo to pick up the ingredients. One 7.5oz container of organic fromage blanc was $10 and for this recipe I needed two. Also, one vanilla bean will cost between $10 and $15. Is it worth spending a few extra dollars per item to get organic products? Of course!

I also bought two bottles of Innocent Bystander Pink Moscato to accompany the dessert, but totally forgot to serve it! But if you are looking for a great dessert wine that goes will with berries and cream dessert, the Pink Moscato is a good pairing. And at only $10 a bottle, a good deal!

Leave a Reply

Ever since I was a little country bumpkin growing up in Alabama, I dreamed of living in a big city. No longer would I have to only befriend the local farm animals. I would have real people friends! I would wear suits and be important. And I'd be able to eat foreign foods like tacos or spaghetti.


Now here I am, living in San Francisco where I'm constantly surrounded by great food and food sources. And now I'm going to write about all of it. What I eat, what I cook. Where I shop for ingredients. Basically anything and everything about what I love most. FOOD!



Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

