Bloggingforfood's Blog

In Season: Strawberries!!

Posted on: April 20, 2010

Tis the season… for STRAWBERRIES!! From March to October. That’s when you can get your hands on fresh, ripe, juicy strawberries!

Interesting strawberry facts:

~ Strawberries are the only fruit with seeds on the outside.
~ If all the strawberries produced in California, in one year, were laid berry to berry, they’d wrap around the world 15 times.
~ There is a museum in Belgium just for strawberries.
~ Strawberries were a symbol of perfection and love: for instance, folklore says that if you split a double strawberry in half and share it with a member of the opposite sex, you’ll soon fall in love. Medieval stonemasons carved strawberry designs on altars and around the tops of pillars in sacred places such as churches, as a symbol of perfection.
~ Strawberries are low fat, low calorie; high in vitamin C, fiber, folic acid, potassium.
~ Strawberries, as part of a 5 a day fruit & vegetable program, can help reduce the risk of cancer & heart attacks.
~ Eating strawberries, which are rich in nitrate, can increase the flow of blood & oxygen to the muscles by 7%.  This prevents muscle fatigue, making exercise easier.

So run out to your nearest farmers market and grab some of these fresh, juicy red jewels. For information on Bay Area farmers markets, click here.

**NOTE: This photo has not been altered in any way. When I cut the top off of the strawberry, this is what was inside. ^_^**

2 Responses to "In Season: Strawberries!!"

I take a whole bunch of strawberries, dump them in a blender with ice, milk and honey.

Excellent blog post. This reminds me that I need to buy strawberries today. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Ever since I was a little country bumpkin growing up in Alabama, I dreamed of living in a big city. No longer would I have to only befriend the local farm animals. I would have real people friends! I would wear suits and be important. And I'd be able to eat foreign foods like tacos or spaghetti.


Now here I am, living in San Francisco where I'm constantly surrounded by great food and food sources. And now I'm going to write about all of it. What I eat, what I cook. Where I shop for ingredients. Basically anything and everything about what I love most. FOOD!



Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

